Skip to Content

Automatic Mutual Recognition 2021

The Australian Government is working to improve occupational mobility that will make it easier for Australians in licensed occupations to move and work across state and territory borders.

The Automatic mutual recognition (AMR) scheme has been introduced by Commonwealth and State Governments aimed at increasing occupational mobility. This allows those who are registered as a teacher in one jurisdiction to be considered registered to teach in another jurisdiction without the need to apply for mutual recognition with the teacher regulatory body in the subsequent jurisdiction(s). The legislation passed the Commonwealth Parliament in May 2021.

This scheme does not currently apply to teachers in SA.

Currently, if you hold current registration in another state or territory in Australia or New Zealand, and you wish to teach in SA, you can apply under Mutual Recognition. If approved, you will be granted registration in line with the registration you hold in the other jurisdiction.

You can read a copy of the Teachers Registration Board of South Australia's submission on the Exposure Draft Legislation and the Automatic Mutual Recognition Scheme for Teachers.