Skip to Content

The Board

Board Membership

Board Membership

The following persons were appointed by the Governor pursuant to Section 9 of the Teachers Registration and Standards Act 2004:

Name, Position


Dr Jane Lomax-Smith, Presiding Member


Carolyn Grantskalns, Deputy Presiding Member


Anthony Haskell, Member
(Michael Francis, Deputy Member)

Nominated by: Independent Education Union (SA)

Britta Jureckson, Member
(David Freeman, Deputy Member)

Nominated by: Independent Education Union (SA)

Colleen Tomlian, Member
(Mark Ward, Deputy Member)

Nominated by: Australian Education Union (SA)

David Coulter, Member
(Amanda Dempsey, Deputy Member)

Nominated by: Australian Education Union (SA)

Oksana Kaczmarsky, Member
(Nikki Johnston, Deputy Member)

Nominated by: Australian Education Union (SA)

Tracey Chapman, Member
(Marika Marlow, Deputy Member)

Nominated by: Australian Education Union (SA)

Fiona Brady, Member


Kate Cameron, Member


Marina Elliott, Member


Nigel Stevenson, Member


Peter McKay, Member


Susan Boucher, Member



The Board meets on a monthly basis.

Standing Committees

To enable specific matters to be dealt with in an efficient and effective manner, the Board has established four standing committees. Members may be co-opted to these Committees as appropriate. A range of matters are referred to these committees for discussion and to develop proposals and recommendations for resolution by the Board. Executive support to all standing committees is provided by the staff of the Board.

Teacher Education and Professional Issues (TEPI) - considers a broad range of educational and professional issues including the development of professional teaching standards.

Admissions – develops policy proposals and considers non-standard applications relating to admission to the Register of Teachers.

Audit and Risk Committee - provides assurance and assistance to the Board on risk, control and compliance frameworks and for the accurate financial reporting and performance of the Authority. 


The Board delegates the determination of matters pursuant to Part 5 (admissions to the Register) and Part 7 (whether conduct constitutes proper cause for disciplinary action or whether a teacher's capacity to teach is seriously impaired by an illness or disability affecting the person's behaviour or competence as a teacher) to a sub-committee. This sub-committee is comprised of not less than three members of the Board including a member who is a legal practitioner and a member who is a practising teacher. A decision is made on behalf of the Board and is binding on the Board.

Ad-Hoc Panels

Ad hoc panels are formed by the Board from time to time to consider or make recommendations on specific issues. For example, a sub-committee may convene a panel to assess initial teacher education programs and make recommendations for determination by the Board.

Board Code of Conduct

You can view the Board code of conduct here.

You can also view the Public Sector Code of Conduct here.